Internship for Summer 2012: Linden Resources   Leave a comment

So I know I should have gotten to this sooner but I got busy and well we all know how that goes.

This blog is called “Erica Is An Intern” so it only seem logical that I tell you about my internship this summer at Linden Resources. Linden works to help people and veterans with disabilities gain game full employment. It is an amazing organization. I work in the Development and Communications department. My official title is communications, marketing, and social media intern. This 8-week job is the reason I have had no time to write on my blog. My boss gives me more work everyday and with 3 weeks left I do not know if I will get it all done. This job is also the best I have ever had. I have told many people in my life if I could do this for  the rest of my life, I would get angry to not have gotten a promotion, but I also would have done what I wanted to do. I love it here. Creating year-long marketing materials, creating e-newsletters and content, promoting Linden’s for-profit businesses, and managing Linden’s social media has been a dream come true. Foster Care Alumni of America was an amazing experience (click the link to read my post about last summer). However, there were times when I was sitting around not doing anything. One of my favorite sayings about work and one that I believe applies to me perfectly is “Idle hands are the devil’s playthings.” I am the kind of person who enjoys having a lot of things on my plate because it keeps me busy. When one thing overwhelms I can always switch gears and work on something else. I did say before that my boss was giving me a lot to get done but the amount of work is not the problem, it’s that I only have 8 weeks at this job, and while that may seem like a lot when I started, I now know that it is very short.

I am enjoying this internship more than any I have had before and I have had internships ever summer since the summer of 2009. In the fall I will be heading back to school but I will have taken a lot of great experience back with me. I never thought that I would find what I wanted to do with my life but I am so glad that I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 768 other followers

